Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Saturday May 20

A poet’s hope: to be, like some valley cheese, local, but prized elsewhere.
- W.H. Auden

Friday May 19

I do not mind what language an opera is sung in so long as it is a language I don’t understand.
- Edward Appleton

Thursday May 18

Please do not shoot the pianist. He is doing his best.

- Printed notice in a dancing saloon, Oscar Wilde’s Impressions of America

Wednesday May 17

Music, the greatest good that mortals know, And all of heaven we have below.
- Joseph Addison

 

Tuesday May 16

The world is like a Mask dancing. If you want to see it well you do not stand in one place.
- Chinua Achebe

 

Monday May 15

Life is like a beautiful melody, only the lyrics are messed up.
- Hans Christian Andersen

 

 

Sunday May 14

In a child's eyes, a mother is a goddess. She can be glorious or terrible, benevolent or filled with wrath, but she commands love either way. I am convinced that this is the greatest power in the universe.
- N.K. Jemisin

Saturday May 13

The shortest distance between two people is a smile.
- Victor Borge

 

Friday May 12

We must cherish our inheritance. We must preserve our nationality for the youth of our future. The story should be written down to pass on.
- Louis Riel

 

Thursday May 11

I feel I must fight for [my music], because I want women to turn their minds to big and difficult jobs; not just to go on hugging the shore, afraid to put out to sea.
- Dame Ethel Smyth

 

Wednesday May 10

Science cannot tell us a word about why music delights us, of why and how an old song can move us to tears.
― Erwin Schrödinger

 

Tuesday May 09

... in music one can hear everything.
- Maxim Gorky