Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Friday July 28

Everyone wants to understand painting. Why is there no attempt to understand the song of the birds?
- Pablo Picasso

Thursday July 27

Poetry surrounds us everywhere, but putting it on paper is, alas, not so easy as looking at it.
- Vincent Van Gogh

 

Wednesday July 26

Poetry is not a turning loose of emotion, but an escape from emotion; it is not the expression of personality, but an escape from personality. But, of course, only those who have personality and emotions know what it means to want to escape from these things.
- T. S. Eliot

 

Tuesday July 25

The true artist has the planet for his pedestal; the adventurer, after years of strife, has nothing broader than his shoes.
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Monday July 24

You will find poetry nowhere unless you come of it with you.
- Joseph Joubert

Sunday July 23

The artist alone sees spirits. But after he has told of their appearing to him, everybody sees them.
- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Saturday July 22

The artist produces for the liberation of hi soul. It is his nature to create as it is the nature of water to run down the hill.

- W. Somerset Maugham

 

Friday July 21

Who sees the human face correctly: the photographer, the mirror, or the painter.
- Pablo Picasso

 

Thursday July 20

Art has the role in education of helping children become like themselves instead of more like everyone else.
- Sydney Gurewitz Clemens

 

 

Wednesday July 19

When we are on stage, we are in the here and now.
- Konstantin Stanislavski

 

Tuesday July 18

A strange art---music. The most poetic and precise of all the arts, vague as a dream and precise as algebra.
- Guy de Maupasssant

 

Monday July 17

I see little more important to the future of our country and our civilization than the full recognition of the place of the artist.
- John F. Kennedy