Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Tuesday Mar 21

Where words leave off, music begins

                              - Heinrich Heine

Saturday Mar 19

The worst thing you can do is censor yourself as the pencil hits the paper. You must not edit until you get it all on paper. If you can put everything down, stream-of-consciousness, you'll do yourself a service.                   - Stephen Sondheim

Mon March 21

The aim and final end of all music should be none other than the glory of God and the refreshment of the soul.  - Johann Sebastian Bach

Friday Mar 18

Music is the social act of communication among people, a gesture of friendship, the strongest there is.  - Malcom Arnold

Thursday Mar 17

As you slide down the banister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

 

 

 

 

                          - Irish Blessing

Wednesday Mar 16

To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time.

                                               - Leonard Bernstein

Mon Mar 14

I got in the school band and the school choir. It all hit me like a ton of bricks, everything just came out. I played percussion for a while, and stayed after school forever just tinkering around with different things, the clarinets and the violins. - Quincy Jones

Sun Mar 13

Without music, life would be a mistake. - Friedrich Nietzche

Sat Mar 12

I can only think of music as something inherent in every human being-- a birthright.  Music coordinates mind, body and spirit. - Yehudi Menuhin

Fri Mar 11

I still can't believe that some pseudocritics continue to accuse me of having murdered tango. They have it backward. They should look at me as the saviour of tango. I performed plastic surgery on it.  - Astor Piazzolla

 

Thursday Mar 10

I think that one of the nice things about the Yellow Submarine movie is that it seems to be perennial. People enjoy watching from each generation. And it was like the Beatles themselves. You know the Beatles seem to find new audience each time another generation comes along.  - George Martin

Wednesday Mar 9

I was meant to be a composer and will be I'm sure. Don't ask me to try to forget this unpleasant thing and go play football - please.   - Samuel Barber