Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Saturday April 23

Modern man is full of platitudes about living life to its fullest, with catchy keychain phrases and little plaques for kitchen walls. But if you've never retreated to the solitude of a dark room and listened to Beethoven's Ninth from start to finish, you know nothing. For music is a transcendental exploration of human emotion and experience, the very fabric of life in its purest form. And the Ninth our greatest musical achievement.  - Writer & Journalist Tiffany Madison

Friday April 22

If Music is a Place -- then Jazz is the City, Folk is the Wilderness, Rock is the Road, Classical is a Temple. - Russian Author Vera Nazarian

Thursday April 21

Real music lovers are actually my favourite kind of people becasue they like to know, rather than just be told what to think. - Prince (1958-2016)

Wednesday April 20

I want to write and feel the drama. Music is essentially an emotional language, so you want to feel something from the relationships and build music based on those feelings. - Howard Shore

Tuesday April 19

Music is the art which is most nigh to tears and memory. - Oscar Wilde

Monday April 18

Rhythm and harmony find their way into the inward places of the soul. - Plato

Sunday Apr 17

Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without. - Confucius

Saturday April 16

Heard melodies are sweet, but those unheard are sweeter. Therefore, ye soft pipes, play on. - John Keats

Friday Apr 15

Art is the only way to run away without leaving home. - Twyla Tharp

Thursday Apr 14

I have my own particular sorrows, loves, delights; and you have yours. But sorrow, gladness, yearning, hope, love, belong to all of us, in all times and in all places. Music is the only means whereby we feel these emotions in their universality. - H.A. Overstreet

Wednesday Apr 13

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. - Berthold Auerbach

Tuesday Apr 12

I don't think children themselves have changed that much. It's the world that has changed. - Ramona Quimby author, Beverly Cleary