Manitoba RCMP members, past and present, have been awarded one of Manitoba's highest honours. 

On Wednesday morning, Premier Heather Stefanson and Justice Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced that Manitoba RCMP members have been awarded the Order of the Buffalo Hunt to recognize the 150th anniversary of their service to the public and security of Manitoba.

“For 150 years, the RCMP has protected Manitobans across our province by acting with integrity, demonstrating compassion and serving with excellence,” said Stefanson. “Every day, officers and civilian employees make valuable contributions to the communities they serve. Today, we thank all RCMP employees, past and present, for their perseverance, duty, and significant contributions to protecting and serving Manitobans.”

The award is an opportunity to recognize their service and sacrifice with the deep gratitude of all Manitobans.

“On behalf of all members of the Manitoba legislature, it is my great pleasure to pay tribute to 150 years of service from members of the RCMP to our province,” said Goertzen. “The dedication and relentless commitment to Manitoba from our RCMP members is being recognized by investing them into the prestigious Order of the Buffalo Hunt.”

Manitoba’s Order of the Buffalo Hunt was established in 1957. The honour is bestowed by the Manitoba government on individuals and groups who demonstrate outstanding skills in the areas of leadership, service and community commitment.